12th SP Reorganizes Standing Committees


February 7, 2014– During the first regular session for this month of February, Hon. Adam Relson Jala introduced to the 12th  Sangguniang Panlungsod, presided by City Vice Mayor Jose Antonio S. Veloso, proposed resolution no. 13-14 entitled,”Re-Organizing the Officers of the Sanggunian and the Membership of the different Standing Committees of the Twelfth Sangguniang Panlungsod of the City of Tagbilaran.” The proposed resolution was created in response to the recent change in the the 12th Sangguniang Panlungsod when former ABC President Faro M. Cabalit and SK CHairman Mary Liene Shaene P. Karaan finished their term last November 30, 2013 and Hon. Edgar R. Bompat, the Barangay Chairman of Dampas District, assumed office as the new ABC President last December 16, 2013. Prior to the changes of the 12th SP, Hon. Oscar Glovasa had already raised to the body the need for the re-organization due to the non-acceptance of committee chairmanship of the councilors under former Mayor Dan Lim’s party.
The reorganization would establish the chairmanship and membership of the now 11 councilors who were once a 12-member body. The standing committees need to be changed for it has left the committees chaired by Hon. Karaan without a chairman due to the abolition of the Sangguniang Kabataan. The committees chaired by Hon. Cabalit cannot be automatically assumed by Hon. Edgar Bompat hence the need for the re-organization.
With the proposed change,  the majority bloc will have as its members, majority floor leader Hon. Adam Relson Jala, Assistant Majority Floor Leader Hon. Bebiano M. Inting, together with Hon. Joseph T. Bompat, Hon. Jeremias Pabe and Hon. Edgar R. Bompat. The  Minority bloc will be composed of Hon. Alexander Lim as the floor leader, Hon. Nerio Zamora II as the assistant floor leader, and Hon. Oscar Glovasa and Hon. Lucille Lagunay  as the minority members. Hon. Phillip Besas and Hon. Alberta Torralba abstained their votes of which bloc they would belong. Both states that as a councilor-elect, their support will not depend on either bloc but rather for the common good of the citizens of City of Tagbilaran.